top of page

Latest News

St Mary’s High School Celebrates 60 Years in Education 1961 - 2021

St Mary's High School opened its doors on 1st September 1961 and this year celebrates 60 years in education.

In recognition of this significant milestone, we welcomed back to St Mary’s some former Principals (pictured are Principal Miss Denise Crawley, Mrs Margo Cosgrove, Mrs Ann Valley and Mrs Florence McMahon. Missing from Photo is Ms Geraldine McClory). We also remember the first Principal of St Mary’s, Mother Pacifica R.I.P.

We also welcomed back a former member of staff and former pupil, Mrs Patricia Mackey (Teacher in 1961) and Mrs Deirdre Larmour Murphy (Pupil in 1961).

We recognised the long service to St Mary’s by two current members of staff, Miss Marion McAteer, who has been a member of the Administration Team for 50 years, and Mr Eugene Magee who has been a teacher in the school for 40 years.

Also pictured is our newest Member of Staff, Mrs Eimear McAllister and our youngest new Year 8 Pupils, Niamh Cinnamond and Eva-Mae McIlroy.

Principal Miss Denise Crawley and Vice Principal Mr Maurice Fitzpatrick are also pictured with Mrs Patricia Cunningham (Vice Chair of Governors), Mrs Sile Tankov (Senior Teacher), Mrs Joanne Hughes (Senior Teacher) and Mrs Teresa Kearney (Senior Teacher).



St Mary's High School, Newry

bottom of page